Holidays

University Holiday Observance

These are the dates the university will be closed, except for essential services, in observance of holidays. If the holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed the Friday before; if it falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.

2021

New Year's Day – Friday, January 1, 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 18, 2021

Memorial Day - Monday, May 31, 2021

Juneteenth - Friday, June 18, 2021

Independence Day - Monday, July 5, 2021

Labor Day - Monday, September 6, 2021

Veterans Day - Thursday, November 11, 2021*

Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 25, 2021

Day after Thanksgiving - Friday, November 26, 2021

University Closure - Wednesday, December 22, 2021**

University Closure - Thursday, December 23, 2021**

Christmas Day - Friday, December 24, 2021*

2022

New Year's Day - Friday, December 31, 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 17, 2022

Memorial Day - Monday, May 30, 2022

Juneteenth - Monday, June 20, 2022

Independence Day - Monday, July 4, 2022

Labor Day - Monday, September 5, 2022

Veterans Day - Friday, November 11, 2022*

Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 24, 2022

Day after Thanksgiving - Friday, November 25, 2022

Christmas Day - Monday, December 26, 2022

*In accordance with Article 42 of the CBA, December 24, Christmas Eve, will no longer be a paid holiday now that UO observes Veterans Day.

**The university has added two additional closures in December as paid holidays. This is applicable to 2021 only.

Classified Employees Information

Special Day of Leave

  • Full-time classified employees receive eight hours of leave, prorated for part-time staff.
  • Employees may request the option of using this paid leave on any mutually agreeable day between, and including, the day before Thanksgiving and January 31. Where no day during this time can be mutually agreed upon, another day of the employee’s choice shall be granted, provided that approved usage does not create the closure of facilities. This day must be used no later than June 30 of that fiscal year or it is forfeited and is not compensable. The university may be open those days, and time off should be scheduled to maintain departmental services. OPEU and GCIU employees receive this day under the terms of their collective bargaining agreements.

Temporary Employees
SEIU- represented temporary employees are not eligible for holiday pay but do earn time-and-a-half for work performed on a recognized holiday.

Officers of Administration Information

Special Day of Leave

  • The special day of leave for unclassified employees (officers of administration, instruction and research with 12-month appointments) may be used on any working day from the day before Thanksgiving through January 31st.
  • Holiday time is prorated for part time unclassified employees.

Update 6/9/21: UO adds Juneteenth and Veterans Day to holiday observance schedule

Changes to holiday schedule begin immediately and apply to future years.

The university has added Juneteenth and Veterans Day to its holiday observance schedule. The decision to expand the UO holiday schedule advances our commitment to equity and inclusion, recognizes the sacrifices of our veterans, and aligns with recent legislator-approved state holidays.

The university will close in observance of the holidays and eligible employees will receive holiday pay in accordance with policy and collective bargaining agreements. Units should track and apply this holiday in the same manner as other holidays.


Policies and CBAs

University holidays are established for each employee group based on policy and collective bargaining agreements: