United Academics

UA represents approximately 1,900 faculty on campus including tenure-track and non-tenure-track instructional faculty, adjuncts, librarians, research faculty, and postdoctoral scholars.  Law school faculty, EC Cares faculty, and faculty in a supervisory role (mostly department heads and primary investigators) are excluded from the bargaining unit. 

Current President:  President Chris Sinclair, Associate Professor of Mathematics. 


2015-2018 United Academics Collective Bargaining Agreement

Faculty Salary Increases

United Academic members ratified the extension of the collective bargaining contract agreement with the university. The new contract extends the current collective bargaining agreement for two years, expiring on June 30, 2020.

Terms of the contract extension focused on an economic package including cost of living increases each year, a salary pool to address equity, and salary increases based on merit in the second year of the extension:

Fiscal Year 2019

  • Tenure Track Faculty:  1.25% across the board increase and 0.75% pool to address equity.
  • Career Non Tenure Track Faculty:  2.0% across the board increase.

Fiscal Year 2020

  • Tenure Track Faculty:  1.625% merit pool and 0.50% external equity pool for academic departments, which are significantly below peer departments at AAU public institutions.
  • Career Non Tenure Track Faculty:  2.125% merit pool.

No other substantive changes to contract language were made. The faculty union will hold a ratification vote for its members in late September.